List of European personalities banned on Russian territory has been revealed by Netherlands

list of European personalities banned on Russian territory

Moscow had made ​​a list of European personalities banned on Russian territory. Friday, May 29, this was revealed by Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte , citing a Kremlin response to European sanctions that followed the annexation of the Crimea and the conflict in the east of Ukraine.

“Yesterday Russia presented a list of European personalities banned on Russian territory, to the European embassies” said the Prime Minister at a press conference, adding that three Dutch parliamentarians are also on that list.

According to Mr Rutte, Moscow has compiled this list, which would include some eighty to ninety names in response to input sanctions and prohibitions imposed on European territory to the place of Russia in the wake of the annexation of the Crimea in March 2014, and for their role in the Ukrainian crisis. Leader of the Liberal group in the European Parliament and former Belgian Prime Minister Guy Verhofstadt are included in this list in particular, said by the spokesman of the group, Jeroen Reijnen.

A spokeswoman for EU diplomacy told the news sources that Russia had pushed several European politicians in recent months, but had so far refused to provide a list of targeted persons.

On Sunday, the Russian authorities have denied entry of Karl -Georg Wellmann , German MEP Christian Association (CDU – CSU) and president of the group of German-Ukrainian Parliamentary Friendship in their territory . The parliamentarian had hypothesized the existence ” of a list of sanctions Russian side, in response to sanctions of the European Union .”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

To Top